Alumni Spotlights feature outstanding UC Santa Barbara alumni succeeding in their careers, proud of their Gaucho heritage.

Nominate your fellow Gauchos for the Alumni Spotlight series!

The Biden Administration recently appointed Dr. Tanya Das Ph.D. '17 Chief of Staff for the Department of Energy’s Office of Science. Previously, Tanya served as a Professional Staff Member on the U.S. House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.
Ben Feigin ‘97 wins big as the Executive Producer behind "Schitt’s Creek", helping the show make history with a clean sweep at the Emmys and earning himself an Emmy for "Outstanding Comedy Series."
Jesse Byrd ‘10 & Emaan Abbass ‘09 met through the sociology department of UC Santa Barbara and the social life of Isla Vista. Jesse always had a love for art and storytelling while Emaan had a love for world affairs and beauty.
Christina Knapp (Ph.D. ‘19) leads a new generation of quantum researchers. Knapp is an associate researcher working on topological quantum computing with Microsoft Station Q in Santa Barbara.
Stephanie Couch, Ph.D. ‘12, has led the Lemelson-MIT Program as Executive Director since 2016 and has more than a decade of experience in STEM education policy, research, development and strategic fundraising.
Rochelle Farnum '12 graduated from UCSB in three years, with a degree in Communication and an Exercise and Sports Studies Certificate. She now works for LA28, the Organizing Committee for the Los Angeles 2028 Olympic and Paralympic Games.